

Awards Presented at the ASCCP 2010 Annual Scientific Meeting on Anogenital & HPV-Related Diseases

DISTINGUISHED SCIENTIFIC/SERVICE AWARD

Walter K. Kinney, MD (Scientific)

For his expertise which helped shape the development of the 2001 Bethesda System and the 2002 and 2006 Consensus Guidelines and his ongoing work with PICSM.

Philip Castle, PhD, MPH (Scientific)

For his contributions to cancer prevention research, his work in developing the ASCCP Consensus Guidelines and participation in PICSM and its upcoming molecular conference to help inform the American Cancer Society screening guidelines.

Thomas M. Julian, MD (Service)

For serving as Executive Editor of the Journal of Lower Genital Tract Disease for 13 years to date and his tireless efforts to continue to improve its scientific merit.

L. Stewart Massad, MD (Service)

For revamping the ASCCP's internal CME procedures to meet the new level of required compliance outlined in the ACCME's Essential Areas and Elements and Updated Criteria, serving as chair of the Accreditation, Practice and Research Committees and on the Consensus Guidelines Steering Committee, and creating and editing the monthly ASCCP newsletter.

MERITORIOUS SCIENTIFIC/SERVICE AWARDS

Teresa Darragh, MD (Scientific)

For her service as the Scientific Program Co-Chair of the 2010 Biennial Meeting.

Michael A. Gold, MD (Scientific)

For his service as the Scientific Program Co-Chair of the 2010 Biennial Meeting.

Neal M. Lonky, MD, MPH (Scientific)

For his research efforts in lower genital tract cancer prevention and screening and long-standing volunteer efforts on ASCCP's committees.

Kevin J. Mitchell, MD (Service)

For his years of service in chairing the Section on Cervix Committee, for the production of case studies for the Home Study Case Program and the review of ASCCP's online case archives.

Anna-Barbara Moscicki, MD (Service)

For her tireless efforts in adolescent medicine related to

prevention and screening of lower genital tract disease and her commitment and leadership efforts in organizing and producing the PICSM Adolescent Conference.

AWARD OF MERIT

Rodney Long, MA of the National Library of Medicine

For his service to the Society in the development of the Teaching Tool and the new ASCCP online examinations.

Scott Budihas, BS of the National Library of Medicine and Aquilent

For his service to the Society in the development of the Teaching Tool and the new ASCCP online examinations.

PAST PRESIDENT'S AWARD

J. Thomas Cox, MD ASCCP President 2008-2009

Author, Modern Colposcopy, 1998-2002 & 2008-2010 Assistant Secretary, 2000-2002 Practice Committee, 2000-2008 Program Committee, 2000-2008 Quality Assurance Committee, 2000-2002 Chair, AGUS Committee, 2001 Consensus Conference Steering Committee, 2001 Consensus Conference Author & Editor, ASCCP Online CME Series, 2002-2005 & 2009-Editorial Board, 2002-2010 Secretary, 2002-2004 Membership Committee, 2002-2004 Finance Committee, 2002-2008 Editorial Committee, 2002-2010 Industry Relations Task Force, 2004-2008 Treasurer, 2004-2006 Nominating Committee, 2006-2010 President Elect, 2006-2008 Long Range Planning Committee, 2006-2010 President, 2008-2009

Thomas C. Wright, MD ASCCP President 2009-2010

Pathology Committee, 2000-2010 Member-at-Large of the Board of Directors, 2000-2002 Chair, ASC-US Committee, 2001 Consensus Conference Chair, Steering Committee, 2001 Consensus Conference Editorial Committee, 2002-2004 Assistant Secretary, 2002-2004 Membership Committee, 2004-2006 Secretary, 2004-2006 Practice Committee, 2004-2010 Industry Relations Task Force, 2004-2008 Chair, ASC-US Committee, 2006 Consensus Conference Chair, Steering Committee, 2006 Consensus Conference Ad-Hoc Committee on Special Populations, 2006-2008 Treasurer, 2006-2008 Finance Committee, 2006-2010 Chair and Editor, Educate the Educators' Program, 2006-2010 Program Committee, 2006-2008 Long Range Planning Committee, 2006-2010 President Elect, 2008-2009 PICSM Steering Committee, 2008-2010 Editor, Modern Colposcopy 3rd Edition, 2010-Editorial Board, Journal of Lower Genital Tract Disease 2010-President, 2009-2010

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Prof Harald zur Hausen

For his groundbreaking work in recognizing the role of human papillomavirus and the identification of HPV 16 and HPV 18 as a cause of cervical cancer. This research was instrumental in the development of vaccines to protect against cervical cancer.

Professor Margaret A. Stanley, O.B.E. FMedSci. Hon. FRCOG

For her research on the immunobiology of human papillomavirus and cervical cancer which has contributed greatly to the understanding of this disease process.

Malcolm Coppleson, MD

Was honored as a pioneer in recognizing the value of colposcopy as a diagnostic technique for evaluation of the abnormal cervix; establishment of the first Australian colposcopy clinic; and co-authoring the first widely used English language textbook on colposcopy.

Raymond H. Kaufman, MD

For his knowledge and study of many areas including cervical pathology, DES and vulvar diseases and for mentoring numerous ASCCP members through the years.

Eduardo Franco, MD

For his research on the molecular epidemiology of human papillomavirus infection and cervical cancer precursors, and for his leadership in clinical trials of HPV vaccination and molecular HPV testing in cervical cancer screening.