2011 ASCCP Award Recipients

Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award

Mark Stoler, MD

for nearly 30 years as a national leader in cervical pathology and cervical cancer prevention, including assisting in the development of the 2001 Bethesda System and the 2002 and 2006 Consensus Guidelines and for being a major contributor to the Practice Improvement in Cervical Screening and Management (PICSM) committee. Dr. Stoler has more than 100 scientific publications in gynecologic pathology, HPV, and cervical cancer prevention. In the mid-1980's he developed the in situ hybridization methods that helped verify the role of HPV in cervical pathology. Dr. Stoler has also been involved in most of the critical clinical trials on validating new technologies for cervical cancer prevention.

Meritorious Scientific/Service Awards

Ramon M. Cestero, MD

for assistance in translating the 2006 Consensus Guidelines Algorithms into Spanish and for serving as both co-chair and faculty for the ASCCP International Education and Humanitarian Outreach Committee.

Alan G. Waxman, MD, MPH

for serving as both co-chair and faculty for the ASCCP International Education and Humanitarian Outreach Committee, faculty for ASCCP postgraduate courses, and oversight of the development of the new ASCCP online examination for both residents and the mentorship program.

Award of Merit

Francisco A. Garcia, MD, MPH

for assistance in translating the 2006 Consensus Guidelines Algorithms into Spanish.

Luis Alfonso Padilla Paz, MD

for assistance in translating the 2006 Consensus Guidelines Algorithms into Spanish.

Past President's Award

Charles J. Dunton, MD, ASCCP President 2010-2011

Co-Author, Joint ASCCP-ACOG Comprehensive Review of Colposcopy CD-ROM, 1996

Editorial Board, Journal of Lower Genital Tract Disease, 1997-2011

Member-at-Large of the Board of Directors, 2002-2004

Program Committee, 2002-2010 (Chair, 2006-2010)

Practice Committee, 2002-2006 (Chair, 2006-2008)

Finance Committee, 2002-2012 Website Committee, 2002-2006 Assessment Committee, 2004-2006 Assistant Secretary, 2004-2006

AGC Committee Chair, 2006 Consensus Conference

Steering Committee Member, 2006 Consensus Conference

Membership Committee, 2006-2010

Humanitarian Task Force, 2006-2010

Secretary, 2006-2008

Ethics Committee, 2006-2010

Long Range Planning Committee, 2006-2010

Treasurer, 2008-2009

Advanced Course Task Force, 2008-2010

Program Director, Biennial Meeting 2006 and 2008

Strategic CME Planning, 2008-2010

Program Director, Advanced Colposcopy: Base-based Studies, 2009-2011

President-Elect, 2009-2010 President, 2010-2011

Retiring Board Member

ASCCP also thanks and recognizes **Mark Spitzer**, **MD** who completed his term of service on the Board of Directors with the March 2011 Annual Business Meeting. Dr. Spitzer joined the Board in 1994 and served 17 years including serving as President March 2006 through March 2008.