2012 ASCCP Award Recipients

Burton Krumholz Lifetime Legacy Awards

V. Cecil Wright, MD

was recognized for graciously sharing his ATS slides for use in our Comprehensive Colposcopy courses.

Mark Spitzer, MD

for his long years of service on the board and authorship of many of the Home Study Cases.

Meritorious Scientific/Service Awards

Barbara S. Apgar, MD, MS

for her leadership in standardizing the ASCCP Comprehensive Colposcopy Course lectures.

David C. Wilbur; MD

for his service as Co-Chair of the Steering Committee of the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project, co-chair of Working Group 4 – Molecular Markers, and co-chair of Working Group 3 of the Molecular Conference

Teresa M. Darragh MD

for her service as co-chair of the Steering Committee of the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project, of Working Group 3 -Minimally Invasive Cancers, and participation in Working Group 4 of the Molecular Conference

Debbie Saslow, PhD

for her service as co-chair of the Steering Committee of the Molecular Conference, co-chair of the Data Group, and ex-officio liaison to each of the Working Groups

Herschel W. Lawson, MD,

for his service as co-chair of the Molecular Conference Data Group, member of the Steering Committee and Writing Group, and his review and accreditation Work on Modern Colposcopy Textbook and Atlas 3rd Edition

Terence J. Colgan, MD

for his service on the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project as a chair of Working Group 3 - Minimally Invasive Cancers, and participation in Working Group 6 of the Molecular Conference

Evan R. Myers, MD, MPH

for his leadership in the assessment and grading of the evidence process used for the Practice Improvement in Cervical Screening and Management Molecular Conference

Michael A. Gold, MD

for his service as the scientific program co-chair of the 2012 Biennial Meeting

Richard S. Guido, MD

for his service as the scientific program can-chair of the 2012 Biennial Meeting

Award of Merit

Edward J. Mayeaux, Jr, MD

for his time and service as an editor and author of the Modern Colposcopy Textbook and Atlas 3rd Edition

Debra S. Heller, MD

for her participation in the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project and as a chair of Working Group 3-Minimaiiy Invasive Cancers

Joel M. Palefsky, MD

for his participation in the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project and as a chair of Working Group 2-Intraepithelial Lesions

Ronald D. Luff, MD

for his participation in the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) and as a co-chair of Working Group 5 - Implications & Implementation

Edward J. Wilkinson, MD

for his participation on the Steering Committee of the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project and as co-chair of Working Group 1 - Historical Review

Michael R. Henry, MD

for his participation on the Steering Committee of the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project and as a chair of Working Group 2-Intraepithelial Lesions and participation in Working Group 6 of the Molecular Conference

J. Thomas Cox, MD

for his participation on the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) Project and as co-chaír of Working Group 1 - Historical Review and as an editor and author of Modem Colposcopy Textbook and Atlas 3rd Edition

Catherine Chappell, MD

for her time and service as the resident/trainee member of the ASCCP Board of Directors March 2010 - March 2012

Terry P. Jakovac, CRNP

for her successful mentoring of five individuals in the ASCCP Colposcopy Mentorship Program.

Oral Abstract Awards

Best Scientific Paper Award, "Improved Colposcopic Performance Using Electrical Impedance Spectroscopy (Apx100) as an Adjunct" by John A. Tidy, MD, FRCOG.

Best Scientific Paper With Manuscript Award, "Use of Electronic Medical Record-Based Tools to Improve Compliance with Cervical Cancer Screening Guidelines" by **Paula White, MD.**

Best Overall Resident/Fellow Prize Paper With Manuscript, "Should Endocervical Curettage Be Performed at Time of Colposcopy? A Cost-Effectiveness Analysis" by **Jonathan P. Shepherd, MD.**

The Thomas V. Sedlacek, MD, Prize for Best Clinical Research Paper With Manuscript, "HPV 16 Causes Larger Colposcopic Lesion Size Than Other HPV Types in Patients With CIN III" by **Kye-Hyun Nam, MD**.

Best Poster Awards

"Quality Assurance Initiative to Improve Prediction of Clinically Relevant Disease in Menopausal Women with ASCUS" by **R. Callery, MD**, **S. Kumar, T. McAndrew, MS, S. Isani, MD, M. H. Einstein, MD, and M. Abadi, MD.**

"Colposcopic Error: Histological Undercall of High Grade CIN and AIS as 'CIN 1 or Less' Proven With Excisional Biopsy" by N. M. Lonky, MD, MPH, D. Tweari, MD, J.P. Shah, MD, J.T. Diedrich, MD, P. B. Wride, RN, and J.C. Felix, MD.

ASCCP 2012 Trainee Research Award Recipients

Kate M. Stampler DO, resident, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Lankenau Medical Center, Wynnewood, PA for her paper entitled, "Targeted DNA-Based Nanotherapy for Cervical Cancer"

Elizabeth Nugent, MD, fellow in Gynecologic Oncology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University Health Science Center, Oklahoma City, OK, for her paper entitled, "Can Performance of Loop Electrosurgical Excisional Procedure (LEEP) Be Safely Reduced in Two-Step Discrepancy?"

Winner of the Colposcopy Challenge Bowl

Sheena Mary Mathew, **MD**, who completed her residency training in OB/GYN, Washington Hospital Center, Washington, DC, in 2011 and now Works at Unity OB/GYN in Rochester, NY.